Craft Degree

Craft freemasonry masonic degree

Craft Masonry Degree

Craft Masonry, also known as Blue Lodge Masonry, is the foundational degree system within Freemasonry. It forms the basis of the Masonic fraternity, providing initiates with essential teachings, symbols, and rituals that shape their Masonic journey. This article explores the significance of Craft Masonry, its historical roots, the degrees involved, and the principles it espouses.

Historical Origins Of The Craft Masonry Degree

The origins of Craft Masonry can be traced back to the Middle Ages when operative stonemasons formed guilds to regulate their trade. These guilds developed a system of degrees to distinguish the skill levels of their members. As the construction of Gothic cathedrals declined, the operative stonemasons began to admit non-stonemasons, known as speculative Masons, into their ranks. This transition laid the foundation for the transformation of operative Masonry into speculative Freemasonry.

Symbolism and Ritual Inside The Craft Masonry Degree

Craft Masonry is characterized by its rich symbolism and ritualistic practices. Symbolism plays a vital role in communicating moral and philosophical lessons to initiates. The tools of the operative stonemason, such as the square, compass, plumb line, and trowel, are utilized as symbols of moral and intellectual virtues. The rituals, which involve dramatic performances and allegorical narratives, help to impart these teachings in a memorable and meaningful way.

The Degrees of Craft Masonry

Craft Masonry consists of three primary degrees – Entered Apprentice, Fellowcraft, and Master Mason. Each degree represents a stage of initiation and imparts distinct teachings to the candidate.

1.     Entered Apprentice Degree – This degree introduces the candidate to the fundamental principles of Freemasonry. It focuses on moral lessons, personal development, and the importance of education. The candidate learns the significance of self-improvement, integrity, and brotherly love.

2.     Fellowcraft Degree – Building upon the teachings of the Entered Apprentice Degree, the Fellowcraft Degree delves deeper into the symbolic and philosophical aspects of Freemasonry. It emphasizes the pursuit of knowledge, intellectual growth, and the exploration of the liberal arts and sciences.

3.     Master Mason Degree – Considered the culmination of Craft Masonry, the Master Mason Degree imparts profound lessons on life, death, and the immortality of the soul. It explores the themes of mortality, resurrection, and the importance of virtue. This degree also grants full membership and the right to participate in Masonic activities.

Masonic Principles and Values

Craft Masonry is founded upon a set of core principles and values that guide its members’ conduct and interactions. These principles include brotherly love, relief, and truth. Brotherly love encourages Masons to treat one another with kindness, respect, and support. Relief urges Masons to engage in charitable activities and help those in need. Truth emphasizes the importance of honesty, integrity, and the pursuit of knowledge. Craft Masonry also promotes the cultivation of virtues such as temperance, fortitude, prudence, and justice. These virtues serve as guides for personal

character development and moral conduct, both within and outside the Masonic fraternity.
Scroll to Top